Where is Bhutan?

Bhutan, originally known as Drukyul, is strikingly beautiful country nestled in the Eastern Himalayas. It is sandwiched between the two giant regions Tibet in the North and india in the South. It is also known as “Druk Yul” or “The Land of Thunder Dragon”. The small, landlocked country is completely bounded by mountains. The population consists of Buddhist majority.  Bhutan stands out for its dramatic landscapes, the well-preserved custom and tradition and its distinct art and architecture.

Geographical Area: 46,500 sq.km                           

Coordinates: 27º25’01” N;90º26’06” E

Major Languages Spoken: Dzongkha, English

Time: 6hrs+ GMT

Government: Constitutional Monarchy

Districts: 20  

Population: 753000